Why the Medium Bonus Doesn’t Motivate Me

I only found out I got it by accident

Jennifer Dunne
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
4 min readMay 11, 2021

--

Created by author via Canva.

By now, you’ve heard about the Medium $500 bonus given out to the top 1,000 writers. When I saw the articles about it, I thought to myself, “Someday, I’m going to be one of those top writers!”

I had no idea I actually was one of those top writers.

Because of the way my Gmail is set up, notices that are sent to large numbers of people (like a mass emailing to 1000 authors) do not show up on the main email page. They’re filed under the “updates” tab.

The only time I click on that tab is when I’ve requested a new password from somewhere. Otherwise, I have enough trouble getting through my primary emails.

That’s got to be a typo

On Sunday, May 9th, I visited the Medium Partner Program page. I’d finished writing my blogs for the day, and had submitted them to my selected publications. It was time to see how the articles published earlier in the month had done.

The total was not where I wanted it to be. I’ve published some smaller articles this month (mostly about my 30-day challenge), but neither of the bigger articles has found a home yet. And the traffic (and payments) from the challenge articles has been falling off.

--

--

Jennifer Dunne
Writers’ Blokke

I help visionaries create real change in the world. 90-day Vision to Reality™️ program. For the serious stuff visit https://www.linkedin.com/in/jenniferdunneco/