Would You Rather . . . ?

Some choices seem easy — until you try to make them

John Douglas Porter
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2023

--

Clker-Free-Vector-Images / Pixabay

I’d like to share some questions with you. I won’t say that there are right or wrong answers, but I will say that the answers can tell us something about ourselves.

Number One

Would you rather be honest and have everyone else think you’re dishonest, or dishonest and have everyone else think you’re honest?

“I’d rather be honest,” someone might say, “and to hell with what everyone else thinks!”

Remember Cassandra? She was honest, but everyone else thought otherwise. And Troy fell.

“All right,” someone might say, “I’d rather be dishonest and have everyone else think I’m honest. At least then everyone else would believe me.”

Remember the Boy Who Cried Wolf? He was dishonest, but at first everyone else thought he was honest. Then, when he finally told the truth, no one believed him.

Number Two

Would you rather have a joyful, loving marriage or a miserable, hateful marriage?

Both will end, the loving one in sorrow, the hateful one in relief. Is the sorrow worth the joy? Does the relief compensate for the misery?

Number Three

--

--

John Douglas Porter
Writers’ Blokke

John Porter manages his family’s cattle ranch in California, where he also writes screenplays, essays, and stories.