Writing as a spiritual practice

Courting ‘The Wild Muse’.

Robert Howe
Writers’ Blokke
5 min readFeb 2, 2022

--

Photo by David Hofmann on Unsplash

I first made a commitment to writing when I was 28. I had just lived the adventure of a lifetime and decided to write a travel memoir about it.

I didn’t really know the first thing about writing, so I took Orwell’s Down and Out in Paris and London and did my best to emulate his style.

Day after day, for three years, I rose at 5am and wrote. During that time I started to develop a morning routine.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to talk about the X benefits of having a morning routine.

But I noticed that my morning routine and writing were linked in some way.

The pitfalls of personal development

When I came back from my adventure I was inspired and went through a concentrated period of personal development — reading a lot of books and wolfing down as many videos as I could.

The morning routine that accompanied my writing was anchored in the intention of ‘succeeding’, and being ‘the best version of myself’.

I lovingly thank that younger me. But I see now how misguided he was.

Over the last five years, or so, I’ve understood that the traditional ‘personal development’ paradigm perpetuates the dominant story and its culture of oppression, exploitation and commodification.

I’ve noticed that its narrative goes something like, ‘be the best you, so you can earn the most money and win.’ Usually, ‘whatever the cost.’

Soul Encounter: finding another way

I began to notice the flaws and the shadows of the personal development paradigm when I burnt out, following its guidance.

I also had friends who invited me to reflect on the purpose of personal development and what it served.

Even though I burnt out, I continued with writing and with my journey of self-discovery.

I was trying to learn who I was, why I am here and how I can live a fulfilled and meaningful life.

My inquiry led me into nature connection, deep ecology and nature-based human development. Through the philosophies, practices and the guidance of mentors I found myself weaving threads of connection between myself and the more-than-human world.

I began expanding and holding the largest conversation I could hold with the world.

Eventually, when I was ripe, I had a life changing experience. I had a soul encounter.

A “soul encounter refers to the vision or revelation itself, an experience of a Soul image, symbol, or story — something numinous or sacred at the very core of a person’s individual life, and which mythopoetically communicates something of their unique, innate ecological niche.”

The impact of a soul encounter on writing

Having a soul encounter was significant, because it shifted my personal paradigm. It changed the way I perceived the world and my place in it. It expanded me and enabled me to feel and sense my place amongst the web-of-life. And through my soul encounter I began the process of inhabiting my unique place — my ‘eco-niche’.

Meanwhile I continued to write.

As my world view was changing, so too was my approach towards writing. I was beginning to feel that stories choose the writer, as much as the writer chooses them.

I now believe that stories are gifts, that exist in Platonic form in a metaphysical space. And it is the writer’s task to bring the story down. To translate it from the imaginal realm (the mundus imaginalis) into coherent and electrifying prose.

Enter the Muse

This is where the Muse comes in. She is not out there in the world. She is not Rosseti’s Elizabeth Siddal, or Manet’s Victorine Meurent.

These inspiring figures are nothing but the artist’s own projection of their own inner genius. Their own Muse Beloved. That part of the soul which rests in the mantle of one’s gifts and serves the artist through inspiration.

It is the Muse that serves as the bridge between worlds and that brings something greater than the artist alone can produce.

Maybe you’ve read back some words that you’ve written and marvelled at what you’ve produced. Maybe disbelieved that you were capable of producing something quite so great?

That is a calling card of the muse. As is ‘flow state’, or being in ‘the zone’. When we know the thrill of dancing with our muse. With creating with her, we know our work will be good.

Writing from Soul

To take the idea of ‘muse creation’ a step further, when we allow the muse to guide the stories we produce and share, we open ourselves to a greater intelligence. We begin to tell the stories that are longing to be shared and told. Stories which can serve cultural regeneration and the manifestation, or the seeding, of the Earth’s Dream.

Our principle act as writers’ becomes listening through feeling, sensing and intuiting for the stories that want to come through our bodies and minds.

Feeling for the line and the edge of the story, its image and the thread that wants to run as narrative or speech.

The space I speak of is eternal. It is the realm of myth. The muse brings us into contact with the shapes of stories and wisdom that is needed right now.

Only the muse can help us to shift and transition from our consumer, growth based paradigm, into a future in which human-earth relations are mutually beneficial.

Writing from place

So the stakes are high.

Invoking the muse. Learning to court her. To serve her. To follow her lead and guidance is the way to produce a pure work of genius that reflects the unique gifts, talents, place and service that you, the artist, are destined to bring and manifest in this world.

That is how you are needed.

The ensouled morning routine

This is where I need to talk about the morning routine as a way to court the muse:

Movement, stretching, prayer, meditation, embodiment work. Rituals.

My morning routine has evolved these last few years. It has become ensouled. The practices and the rituals I perform are done in service of soul. In honouring the true shape of me.

Maybe I can share a post about an ‘ensouled morning routine’ another time. But I feel reluctant to do so. Because it is such a personal and private matter.

One’s rituals and practices need to arise and emerge from one’s unique needs. From one’s unique relationship with one’s self.

Final thought

When we ensoul our writing practice we put our egos in service of Soul. Of course, I still dream of writing an international best-seller. I dream of my books and poetry reaching the ears, the eyes and the hearts of many.

But first and foremost, my commitment is to the story and its telling. My commitment is to the service of Life — all beings. Human and non-human. Now and in times to come.

When I commit myself to serve Life through writing. When I overstep thresholds, and walk through portals into eternal realms, I enter a timeless space. The place of stories which transcend time.

From this place I stand a chance of creating something Great. Giving form to the dreams that are dreamed through me.

To reach such places, I first need to get out of my own way. And for that, a morning routine sure does help.

--

--

Robert Howe
Writers’ Blokke

Writing at the intersection of deep ecology, spirituality and nature based human development. Supporting readers on journeys of self discovery.