Writing For Spiritual Growth

During the Pandemic, I discovered a new direction for writing and teaching

Gabrielle Kaplan-Mayer
Writers’ Blokke

--

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Born Writing Stories

Like many writers, telling stories has been a vital part of who I am for as long as I can remember. I spent most of my early childhood making up plays and puppet shows with my dolls. I was fortunate to have an eager grandmother, who had studied theater in college, always ready to both listen and offer her feedback on my stories. In third grade, I had a smart, caring teacher who noticed that though I struggled with math, I could write longer, more complex stories than most children my age and she gave me extra time in class to write little books. In my free time, I was an avid reader and her encouragement of my writing helped me to imagine that I could become an author some day. As a teenager, writing poetry (I’ve found some of it — pretty melodramatic stuff) got me through most of the muck of growing up while feeling like an outsider. In college, I started writing plays and graduated with a degree in theater and creative writing, having had the awesome opportunity of staging some of my plays with fellow students. Becoming a writer felt like a real possibility.

Earning a living as a Writer

--

--

Gabrielle Kaplan-Mayer
Writers’ Blokke

Writer, Educator, Mom. Disability advocate. Dog Lover. Teaching online workshops on writing + spiritual growth. www.gabriellekaplanmayer.com