WRITING AND PRODUCTIVITY

Writing On A Schedule

Merritt J. L.
Writers’ Blokke
2 min readJan 1, 2021

--

A simple boost to productivity.

Writing on a schedule is a reliable habit that is sure to benefit you professionally, as well as personally. When I come across a habit I’d like to keep, I set a specific time of the day dedicated to this new habit. For instance, if I wish to stick to a strict workout schedule, then I will plan on getting in my exercise every morning.

Mornings work well for me. I enjoy having free time, and so this is why I stick to keeping my plans in the mornings. I like to get them out of the way so that I may enjoy the rest of my day.

I know that many others would feel that doing such rigorous tasks early in the morning is nothing more than a major put-off. The time of day is not as important as sticking to a schedule.

This could mean pursuing your habit in the evening. The most important part is that you stick with your habit every evening. This is done to encourage your mind and body to get into a routine.

But doing this with creative hobbies such as writing, you will be able to prime your mind and body to produce those much needed creative juices at a specific time of the day, each day.

Of course, sticking to a routine is most difficult when it comes to an unpredictable life. Adult life is much different from the laid back lifestyle portrayed in films.

Many misconceptions regarding productivity and life, in general, come from film and other sources of “slice of life” entertainment. This is not to say these mediums are bad, per se. Film and other such forms of media are incredibly powerful and important art forms necessary for preservation.

It is the inability to separate fact from fiction — usually by comparing one’s situation to one that is presented in media — that causes many writers (and other creative types) to fall flat.

If you wish to build a routine, then a scheduled repetition is required. The hardest part is not building the routine itself, but starting the process itself. Once you are started, the process will reveal itself to you. Before you know it, you will have developed a healthy and productive routine.

--

--