5 Signs You are Ready to Write a Novel

Kelly McClymer
Writers Change the World
1 min readJun 6, 2017

I’ve had a major Canva play day today. I was trying to create an infographic on how to tell you’re ready to write a novel (for my “Finish Your Novel in 8 Weeks” class).

Now I’m wondering if I missed something? It took me a long time to tackle writing a novel. I wrote short stories for a long time before I dared to begin a novel.

I can’t remember what gave me the courage…except that I decided to write a historical romance novel because I knew the ending — the couple would have to get together, no matter what complications I threw at them.

It felt safer to know the ending, especially given that most of my short story feedback amounted to, “this doesn’t have an ending; it should be a novel.”

I need writerly feedback.

What do you think writers? Is this it? Or am I missing something?

--

--

Kelly McClymer
Writers Change the World

USA Today bestselling author of fiction -- and soon, non-fiction https://kellymcclymerbooks. Granny. Entrepreneur. Love to guess what the future will hold.