Going Down The River

The fun we had babysitting old people

L. Jean Davis
Writers’ Coffee Shop Hangout Spot

--

Photo by Danny Burke on Unsplash

We had the best weekend with my parents and her friends

2 old women and 2 old men rafting down the river.
The beautiful Toccoa River running down and the rippling sound going over the rocks sounded like it was going to be a rough ride. My children Robert and Crystal had decided to go on an adventure with me and my friends, Deborah and Ricky. Somehow, my children talked us into floating down the river. This was an excellent idea at the time. Deborah and I sometimes forget that we are in our late 50s and not in the shape we used to be. Oh well, let’s give it a go, I thought.

Robert is getting our tubes while we go toward the bus to the destination. I thought, with my age, what if I had to go to the bathroom? How embarrassing it is to get older, and your health starts changing. Ricky and Deborah were unhealthy, but that girl loves adventure. Nothing stops her from traveling. They are retired from the Navy and get great deals to go places after retirement.

So here we go, getting on the tubes. Wow, what cold water! Here we go, running down the river like a bunch of kids. I thought this was fun, and then I found myself hanging up on a tree. I was afraid to get off; I might see a snake or another creature. Worse than that, I might go floating down the…

--

--

L. Jean Davis
Writers’ Coffee Shop Hangout Spot

Life can be messy, and I write about it. I started at 60 years old. Travel, history, and life are my genres. https://5grandkids1great.substack.com