9 Things I Learned on Medium as a New (Indian)Writer

Hepza Hart
Writer’s Diary
Published in
6 min readOct 22, 2023

After writing articles for a year here,

Photo by Anna Tarazevich: https://www.pexels.com/photo/here-to-help-lettering-text-on-black-background-5697255/

When I started out I was a Newbie Wanna-be writer, starry-eyed dreamer, head up the clouds heart full of dreams.

Back then all I had was empty pages and a passion to pursue writing. As they say, You want to become a writer? Then Write. Thus, I was browsing for a place to kick-start my writing career online.

So, Thank God, I found Medium When I did. This Platform played a vital role in the growth of my writer self.

It’s been a year and some months since I began writing on Medium. Initially, my only constant follower was my brother, but now I have people thanking me in the comments for sharing the posts.

I call it a success. So I thought maybe sharing the key things I learned would help the new writers fighting the same fight.

Here goes nothing.

1. Medium is the best place to hang:-

It is one of the best forums to connect with other writers.

You could connect with those who are traveling on the same path as you or have been through the same shit as you and took some practical advice.

Medium is like Instagram for writers only with less drama.

2. Your Medium account is Your corner.

If you have a Medium account. You could write about anything. Remotely any niche, topics that particularly interest you and you care about.

Maybe you went to the beach and the sunset inspired you to become a poet. Great, then scribble down a poem. Or you have this crazy obsession for making the best Halloween costumes. Guess what? you can write that too.

I wrote blogs from Handling Your Finances to Worships songs that lift you up. Like I said ANYTHING.

Of course, you can buy a domain, start a blog, and write about a bunch of stuff you love. That’s cool too. but I love the idea of providing my readers the option to highlight and comment on the lines that catch their hearts.

3. Your own Publications

Publications are like a separate aisle in a big-ass supermarket. You are into a specific domain? With this Publication option, you could create a space for a particular niche and write about that specialty of yours.

Ex: Gardening, Are you the pal with the crowbar who loves getting your hands dirty? Then you could write posts from“How to mix the perfect potting mix” to “Tricks and tips for bushy veggies”.

It makes it easy for your crowd to find you, and the people who are into the same niche as you will dig it (You get the pun ?, No ??, Okay !)

I have two, One for the crazy fandom folks and another for the blooming New writers, Stop by if you want to give it a try.

4. Just Posting on Publications doesn’t make you viral.

As a New writer, I heard and read some severe pieces of advice on how new writers should submit for publications to increase their audience. And as the naive newbie, I am, I believed it.

There are a lot of successful and influential publications on Medium. Just because you submitted your well-edited, formatted post to one of them (or multiples of them)it will not make you a top writer.

There’s a lot of grey area there. It doesn’t work like that. Perhaps it worked for Some people, however, it certainly didn’t work for me.

My post on Best Netflix Series to Watch has more views than the ones I submitted to publications.

It has its own perks, it will give you exposure for sure, however believing it is the only way to crack the top writer code is folklore.

I am not saying you shouldn’t write for publications at all, ofcourse you can — “try everything”; but don’t be discouraged if you don’t see the result you expected.

5. Consistently writing here can reach more readers.

You don’t have to sell your soul to demons to get more followers or reach a wide range of audience.

If I learned one thing from being on Medium for more than a year, consistently posting here will do the trick. The clickbait titles and spamming other writers' comment sections be damned.

Maybe it is the algorithm, or maybe it is the internet's way of doing things I don’t know.

Though I know this, I don’t even use any trending socials to promote my work. Yet my follower count increased day by day, one person at a time, ever since I made it a routine to post here every week.

6. Your Followers count is a new level of High

The first time I ever heard about Medium was on Linkedin through a celebration post of a writer.

Once I read what she wrote about being a Medium Writer, I decided to create my own account and the rest is history.

She wrote and I quote “I have 50 Followers on Medium, it may not be a big thing to some, but to know the next time I post, there are 50 poeple who wants to read my handiwork, brings me tremoundous pleasure and gives me confident to write more”

Now with 100+ and a growing follower count, I know that is true and uplifting af on your lowest days.

Maybe currently your followers count is 2 including your mom and your other account. It doesn’t matter, what matters is do you have passion.

Passion is dangerous — it is magnetic. It will attract your rusty zealous fans to you.

7. Medium Membership is worth it

Not gonna lie, it is a bummer that the free account you create only opens limited possibilities.

With that, you can read all the free stories posted on Medium still the “Member only stories” require a subscription. Otherwise, you are only entitled to read 3 Member only stories per month.

Nevertheless, It costs me the same amount I spend on my Netflix subscription every month, and wide opens the opportunities to read some really good stories from really good writers. So If you ask me it’s totally worth it.

8. Medium Partnership Program can be beneficial

This is a fresh way to start monetizing the content you post online.

Now, I am not on MPP for my own reasons. Anyway, I read, and heard from some fellow reliable authors and writers, that it is good.

Medium Recently extended this scheme to Indian Writers too. In case you intend to learn more about it you can read more here.

If you already are one and have your opinions, do drop your 2 cents in the comments, I am all ears.

9. Portfolio Samples

Maybe you don’t care about the followers, maybe you aren’t into MPP too. You just want to rant out the thoughts swirling inside your head, what inspires you, disturbs you, and all.

You start small and build your account one post at a time. Then Boom.

Let’s just say, you want to quit your not-so-alluring 9–5 job and become a freelance writer, or you are that Nerdy college/high school kid who didn’t shut up about how probably Thor is the adoptive child of Odin and wants to pursue your dream career in the world of words.

It would help if you had some work samples to showcase your credibility. and at times like that Medium might come in handy.

Think about it — An active account with good content and a decent number of followers to add to your portfolio beats the same old resume in the game.

If you work on something a little bit everyday, you end up with something that is massive ~ Kenneth Goldsmith

*

*

Summing it up, Writing online articles on Medium is a good place to begin.

You can read other writers' blogs, learn from them, comment, and connect with them. I learned to use licensed images in my blogs only after signing up here.

One day you’ll become a top writer or you’ll land a writing gig that pays you thousands per month. Perpahs not. But It is not the end of the world yet.

So write on Soldier!

Show your Work#3

This Post is not sponsored by Medium or anyone, it is solely my personal experience from being a writer on Medium

I know people have their own, complaints and opinions about being a Medium Writer.

But hey, they are the first platform to reach out asking for my consent about AI companies collecting data from my articles published online.

So I would say it is not the least stupid decision I ever made.

Follow me for more content :)

--

--

Hepza Hart
Writer’s Diary

Writer | Blogger | Nerd & Full-time Fangirl | In love with The Man who gave up his life for me| Here's my blog link -https://hepzahart828.wixsite.com/umeandhim