10 Books You Should Have On Your Bookshelf Today

Oby Akhigbe
Writers Guild
Published in
3 min readJun 4, 2018

--

by kazuend on Unsplash

Do you love reading? I love reading. In fact, you cannot catch me on any given day without a book or kindle in my bag. I take pride in that.

A writer or not, you must surround yourself with books.

My son is an avid reader. I am proud to have impacted the importance of reading on him and his siblings at an early age.

In my family…

•We love books
• We share books
• We talk about books
• We review books
• We read all types of genres
• My preferences are thrillers and romance
• My son’s preference is self-help books- classics that have changed people’s lives over the years, but he has encouraged me to read more extensively.

Here’s why reading is good?
• It opens your mind to endless possibilities.
• It sharpens your imagination
• it transports you to worlds unknown
• It improves your focus and concentration
• It keeps stress down
• You can engage many people in conversation because it makes you smarter
• It improves your brain and memory
• It helps you think critically
• It helps you build your vocabulary and improves your writing skills

--

--