5 Love Poems for People in Relationships

There are a lot of love poems out there, but not nearly enough for people happily in relationships.

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
Writers Guild

--

Photo Coutesy of Jacob Lund

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.”
Lao Tzu

This title is a bit blunt for my tastes, but I wanted to pause the poetry for a moment to be simple and straight forward. There isn’t a lot of happy love poetry out there. These are the kinds of strong emotions we capture in poetry, but love poetry often seems to gravitate to the less happy spectrum of romance. If I had a penny for every poem about heartbreak I’ve ever read (or written myself, I’m just the same as you), I’d be a very rich woman.

There are a lot of love poems floating around in the literary atmosphere. Even though the library of poetry focused on love could probably outmatch the Library of Congress five times over, why aren’t there more love poems for people in committed relationships? Even if the relationships aren’t new, the feelings are still strong.

Quiet Mornings

--

--

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
Writers Guild

Brooklyn-based writer and poet. Designer in NYC. Drinks books and loves coffee. Has an MS from NYU in Integrated Design & Media. Working on an MFA in Fiction.