A Friend to Write Home About

Poetry of Life

Lincoln W Daniel
Writers Guild
1 min readJan 14, 2024

--

November 25, 2023. 4:32 AM. Havertown, PA.
By Lincoln W Daniel

I can’t stop thinking of your friend.
I’ve seen her first on your day.
She’s struck me a strange way.
Hadn’t I seen her once before?
Surely I knew her times before…
Why hadn’t I met her long before?
Where was she years before?
I want to make this the new before.

Before I stepped into this room.
Before she graced this room.
Before I surveyed this room.
Before you kissed your groom.
Before I pictured her groom…
and saw myself the same.

I needed a frame.
I needed her name.
I needed a game
without the shame.
I needed to proclaim
how my interest became
set aflame.

Her hand was my aim.
In my eyes, we could be one,
in mind, spirit, and name.
I haven’t stopped thinking of our friend.
I can’t imagine this world before her bend…

December 3, 2023. 6:00 AM. Brooklyn, NY.

--

--

Lincoln W Daniel
Writers Guild

Chief Bull @ BullAcademy.org ® Elevating writers @ ManyStories.com. Author @JavaForHumans Ex: Editor in Chief MarkGrowth (acq.), Engineer @Medium @GoPuff