Ai Generated Image Created in Midjourney by Shakura Galloway

AI: Navigating Uncharted Creative Waters & Dispelling Imposter Syndrome

Shakura Galloway
Writers Guild
Published in
2 min readJul 1, 2023

--

Like many creatives, I sometimes struggle with imposter syndrome. This feeling has often prevented me from pursuing personal projects and sharing my thoughts and ideas, due to the fear of my work being subpar or irrelevant. With the introduction to generative Ai my fears had enormously grown. But upon diving into Midjourney and getting familiar with a variety of other Ai outlets; its capabilities and constraints became very clear.

These are the two main things I’ve learned:

  1. Anyone can use these programs to generate random things but creative thinkers and thought engineers are the ones who will produce work that can be referenced and applied to real-world use cases with true purpose.
  2. These Ai tools are to help streamline workflows, it’ll most times need a human to adjust, apply and rethink most of the outputs.

A mentor of mine from One Method once said something along the lines of “Know your sh*t” Even if those weren’t his exact words, that was definitely my interpretation. I feel like I’ve put in my 10,000 hours, but with the creative climate continuously changing, it’s time to add about 20,000 more.

I believe that creating great work is like producing a chart-topping, number-one hit. The artist doesn’t just walk into the studio and, boom, that’s it.

With the fear of AI taking creative jobs, from what I’ve learned so far, that might not be the case…

I’m a multidisciplinary designer based in Toronto, Canada. Follow my Ai journey here for process work and more of my thoughts. Curious about my work or want to collab sometime, check out my website.

Interested in having me create Ai generated images for your blogs similar to this one? Reach out to creativelyfouronesix@gmail.com

--

--

Shakura Galloway
Writers Guild

Graphic/Motion Designer for the greater good. Exploring the world of writing to help better articulate the many things I’ve been eager to say.