Capturing Eureka Thoughts

or How I read non-fiction books ?

Abid Uzair
Writers Guild
3 min readJul 6, 2018

--

I spend most of my free time which is pretty much all day — reading books, mostly non-fiction. About a week ago, I started questioning my reading habits. One question that intrigued me the most was “Am I making the most of my reading time and how can I amplify it?”

Before I answer the question, let us rewind a little bit…

I got into reading by borrowing books from friends. I didn’t care to buy my own copy. It felt like too much money and I didn’t think it was a wise investment. So I would borrow them and read.

My purpose of reading was to learn and remember what I gained out of the book. Since it was not my copy, I had to maintain a scribbling pad where I took notes. This gave me a chance to read multiple times and it helped me internalize.

Notes from the book “Hackers & Painters” by Paul Graham. Check out my article on Design for Humans: Or 14 Principles of Good Design.

But this was too much work for me. I wanted to rush through books. I felt that I was spending too much time on a single book. I despised the idea of taking notes. It bored me. Therefore, I decided to buy books and build my own library.

Now I didn’t had to take notes. I just underlined and highlighted important excerpts. It made my work less intensive and I was happy about it.

Two amazing reads: “Lean Startup” (on the left) by Eric Ries and “Sapiens” by Yuval Noah Harari.

My happiness didn’t last for too long though. I realized that these highlighted notes can easily be misconstrued or misinterpreted. They can be easily taken out of context. A prolific author does a great job of providing multiple perspectives on a subject. If I as a reader cherry-pick important lines, then I am messing with the context. Not so cool.

I have not entirely discarded the idea of taking notes or highlighting. But, I tend to not draw too many conclusions out of it and be aware that I have inherent biases and assumptions.

Now let me answer the question I mentioned in the beginning — Am I making the most of my reading time and how can I amplify it?

Few days ago, I stumbled upon an article on how to read by Robert Heaton. I urge you to read it too. One idea from the article, caught my attention. A reading session is incomplete without writing the summary at the end. This practice has helped me immensely while writing book reviews. I need not recollect everything in order. I summarize one chapter at a time and so it helps me stay focused.

Capturing “Eureka” thoughts from the book “On Writing Well” by William Zinsser.

The way I follow this process now is: I read and write simultaneously. The reason I do this is — we get so many amazing thoughts between the paragraphs. I like to call such thoughts as “Eureka thoughts.” They are extremely volatile. You can easily lose hold of them in no time. So I make sure to put it on paper immediately.

Honestly, this process seems very natural and liberating.

Reading list for the remainder of 2018. Follow my bookish expeditions on Goodreads.

Further reading:

Do let me know what works for you in the comment section. I will be glad to hear you. Thanks for reading!

--

--

Abid Uzair
Writers Guild

Currently empowering the person closest to me. Long term plan is to bend the universe for good. Kinda like changing the world one person at a time.