How Astrology Helps My Writing Practice

From character development to editing during retrogrades.

Shannon Hugman
Writers Guild

--

Photo by Fabrizio Verrecchia on Unsplash

In November 2019, I decided to write a fiction novel for Nanowrimo. I had attempted the challenge many times; always burning out, quitting and failing. This go around I wanted to experiment and have fun with it. For each of my characters , I would use an astrological archetype. I had one character based on the Sun’s symbolism, another on Mercury, and the plot of the story followed the cycles of the Zodiac. Not only did I win Nanowrimo, but the process was fluid and easy.

As an astrologer, I do a lot of writing about the planetary transits and how they influence individuals on Earth. Through honing my writing practice, I learned how astrology and its archetypes can help all writers, not just astrologers. It has helped me gauge my moods and energy levels and inspired the characters within my stories.

The zodiac is the story of creation

There are a lot of misconceptions when it comes to the word astrology. We think of horoscopes or sun signs, and often our preconceived notions flood in. We write it off and think it’s just some mystical tool for love stuck young girls. However, the story of the Zodiac is so much more.

--

--

Shannon Hugman
Writers Guild

Astrologer+Author of Analogies, Energies & Celestial Bodies. My Book: https://amzn.to/34zsnjU My Newsletter: https://bit.ly/3tN512N