How Many People Still Read Poetry?

If you’re a poet, there’s probably been a time in your life when you were a little bit embarrassed about that fact.

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
Writers Guild

--

Poetry Courtesy of Marek Photo Design

Even if you didn’t feel embarrassment, there are probably people in your life who you didn’t want reading your poetry.

All of this is normal; if you’re writing a heartbroken love poem, you probably don’t need your grandma reading it. Poetry is all about expression. Expressing yourself isn’t always easy, especially since there are a lot of people out there who don’t read poetry.

But it’s an honest question, whether you take part in robust outreach activities or not, does your beloved craft have a strong audience?

The poetry community is always changing and evolving.

Photo by Lê Tân on Unsplash

I’m a writer. I’ve considered myself to be a “writer” since I was about eleven years old and started writing absolutely terrible poetry.

I’ve come a long way since then, got a degree in literature along the way, but while I continue to label myself this way, there was a stretch of time where I completely…

--

--

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
Writers Guild

Brooklyn-based writer and poet. Designer in NYC. Drinks books and loves coffee. Has an MS from NYU in Integrated Design & Media. Working on an MFA in Fiction.