5 Reasons to Love the Fantastic Art of Blogging

Valerie Sizelove
Writers Guild
Published in
5 min readApr 15, 2018

--

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Escape the confines of academic writing

You and I have been trained since childhood to create intro, body, and conclusion. Paragraph length, formal grammar, and proper citation procedures were hammered into us.

I am the master of scrambling to complete an entire 10-page academic paper, start to finish, in one all-nighter. Complete with quotes and flowing analysis. I guess I just work better under pressure.

I have even written a 30 page capstone academic paper about breastfeeding.

Truth be told, when I put maximum effort into my writing and revision, I see excellent results. But only if I spend 4+ hours on one complete school paper. An A is pretty much guaranteed.

But is it worth it? It’s just a mark on paper from one measly reader.

Photo from Pixabay

Enter, blogging and online writing. The “grade” here is about how many people want to actually read what I write. That’s a much more fulfilling type of grade to reach.

Plus, this audience is not here to obsess over grammar and format. They are here for content.

--

--

Valerie Sizelove
Writers Guild

Early 30’s, mentally complex, twisted and honest, reflecting and growing, catching and sharing gems with all my kindred. Soul connection addict. Shapeshifter.