I Like Your Hair

Poetry of Life

Lincoln W Daniel
Writers Guild
1 min readDec 5, 2023

--

December 5, 2023. 1:22 AM. Brooklyn, NY.
By Lincoln W Daniel

Dear sister,
from a brother:

I like your hair …
how it grows from your crown,
connecting to your roots.

I like your hair…
how it stretches wide,
pushing beyond boundaries laid.

I like your hair…
how it morphs freely,
founding your range of expressions.

I like your hair…
how it’s yours…

to do with as you please;
to expand as big as you’d like;
to shrink down to your scalp;

to color the rainbow bright;
to tell your story with passion;
to embrace despite cruel standards;

to maintain with care;
to like by default;
to hate on bad days;
to appreciate for what it is;

to love regardless;

I love your hair.
It’s good from here
to the motherland
and everywhere.

December 5, 2023. 1:38 AM. Brooklyn, NY.

Watch this video on YouTube

--

--

Lincoln W Daniel
Writers Guild

Chief Bull @ BullAcademy.org ® Elevating writers @ ManyStories.com. Author @JavaForHumans Ex: Editor in Chief MarkGrowth (acq.), Engineer @Medium @GoPuff