I Will Grant Your Every Wish

Poetry of Life

Lincoln W Daniel
Writers Guild
2 min readNov 26, 2023

--

October 27, 2023. 10:25 AM. Brooklyn, NY.
By Lincoln W Daniel

I read this poem online.
I want to read it to you now
and share with you my response.

She said:

"I've many wishes ...
that you laugh robustly,
love fiercely,
sing loudly,
dance freely,
learn patiently,
curiously explore;

that you love life as much as I do,
even through the mundane chores;
yet, most important of all…
is that you don't snore."

And in response, I say

I too have many wishes ...
they all start with you ... and I —
me and you.

That you will give me a chance
when I ask for this dance.
That I will show you all there is
in a world like this.
That you will take care not to run in fear
when I lay it all bare ...
the things I carry from days no longer near.

I promise to give you grace when things you carry rear into what we build …
because there’s so much we could make of this guild.

You and me,
there's so much we could carry
as we traverse this journey.
But if we are to come across a genie
who only grants us one wish,
there's nothing I wouldn't give
if to bring you bliss.

So if I am to achieve that one wish …

I promise to laugh robustly whenever in your presence.
I promise to love you fiercely, even in your absence.

I will sing loudly as we dance freely.
I will learn patiently all this world holds.
With you by my side, I will curiously explore beyond all thresholds.

If nothing else, I believe this life is for loving.
So to love it, I'm willing,
notwithstanding mundane chores
and even your snores.

I promise to grant you every last wish …
Just ask, and give me a chance to dish.

November 22, 2023. 5:40 PM. Brooklyn, NY.

--

--

Lincoln W Daniel
Writers Guild

Chief Bull @ BullAcademy.org ® Elevating writers @ ManyStories.com. Author @JavaForHumans Ex: Editor in Chief MarkGrowth (acq.), Engineer @Medium @GoPuff