If You’re Looking for Easy Side Income, Writing a Children’s Book Isn’t the Answer

A look inside the publishing process

Kolina Cicero
Writers Guild

--

Iam publishing a children’s book. It’s a story about a little girl who learns about values through the arrival of different animals to her family’s hobby farm.

When I wrote the first draft, I didn’t intend to publish it. But then I realized the story materialized out of a passion I didn’t even know I had: to promote kindness amongst children. It has been my dream to publish a book and so I decided one day, after printing four copies of my story and distributing them onto my colleagues’ desks, that I was going to pursue publication.

When I tell people I’m working on a children’s book, I often hear what a great idea it is, and that they, too, have considered writing a children’s book as a way of bringing in some extra income.

I so badly wish it worked that way. But it doesn’t. Or not for most people, anyway.

Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site is a classic bedtime story with a great backstory: author Sherri Rinker sent her unsolicited manuscript to Chronicle Books — and they published it. It topped the New York Times bestselling list. This book is a hit. It is also an anomaly.

--

--