My Students’ Matter All The Time

Trumped By Students’ Opinions, Writing About Trump and Freedom of Speech

Michelle A. Patrovani - M.A.P.
Writers Guild
3 min readMay 8, 2018

--

Photo by Matt Artz on Unsplash

It was Monday, April 16, 2018. My fourth and fifth-grade students had spent Friday struggling to understand diamantes and write their own.

I decided to give it another try. Before long, my students were working independently or in pairs and writing diamantes.

Student 1: “Can we write a diamante about Trump?”

Me: “Ummm… I’d prefer you choose a different topic…” (I knew what this pair of students would say and write and I frankly, I was afraid of the words I’d then see on paper).

Student 1: “But, why Ms. Patrovani? We really want to write about Trump…”

Student 2: “Yeah. And I don’t want to write at all, but I’ll write about him.”

I reluctantly agreed and gave a few words of caution about word choice.

No sooner had I walked away, I heard it. “Well, he’s stupid and a fraud…”

Student 2: “And he always has orange hair and skin…”

I reversed, “Children, who are you talking about? Can we not call people stupid please.”

Student 1, with an eye roll of champions and a sigh: “We’re talking about Trump.”

Me: “I can hear that, but are there synonyms you can use so you don’t refer to our president that way?”

Student 1: “No. He’s stupid and racist. Plus you always told us we could express ourselves as long as we can prove it. Now, you’re taking away our rights to say our opinions.”

Student 2, as he quickly stood up: “You know what. I have to get out of here then.”

With eyebrows that had immediately traveled up and over to the back of my head, I stood down.

Me: “Okay. Go ahead and write your diamante on Mr. Trump. You are right. You should be able to express your opinions.”

After that response, how could I not stand down and let the pair continue their discussions and writing? How often do my kids go without having their opinions heard? What action would best support what I had been trying to teach them all year? I had given them voice and tools for writing, should they not use them freely?

Later, this is what the pair submitted:

Along with the earlier collective class effort:

So, let’s end on the positive diamante about friends.

Yes, let’s.

--

--

Michelle A. Patrovani - M.A.P.
Writers Guild

Pursuing simplicity & meaning. Mom of young adult sons with life-threatening, incurable illness. X: @AbundantBreath LI: https://www.linkedin.com/in