Photo by Pixabay on Pexels

No, I Won’t Write Your Grant Proposals

And here’s a grant writing primer explaining why

Sandra Ebejer
Writers Guild
Published in
5 min readApr 9, 2019

--

I’ve written before about the years I worked as a grant writer.

I enjoyed grant writing and am enormously grateful for all I learned during my 13 years in fundraising. But that chapter of my life has closed.

And yet, when people read these articles they seem to think it means I want to find grants and write proposals for them.

I don’t.

For those who aren’t aware, grant writing is more than just throwing a few words into a document, hitting “submit,” and kicking back until the check arrives.

A typical grant writing process involves:

  • Researching funding opportunities relevant to your field/request/project

--

--

Sandra Ebejer
Writers Guild

Entertainment & lifestyle journalist. Pub in The Cut, Shondaland, Next Avenue, and more / sandraebejer.com / Twitter: @sebejer