Photo by Gratisography on Pexels

The Highs and Lows of Writing Life

Sandra Ebejer
Writers Guild
4 min readMar 8, 2019

--

This morning, I received my first official (non-Medium) byline in a respected literary journal.

To say I’m excited would be putting it mildly. I’m THRILLED. Over the moon crazy stupid excited.

When I woke this morning, I immediately grabbed my cell phone and went to BREVITY’s website to see if my post was up. And there it was! There’s me! In full color! And the words I wrote are RIGHT THERE for everyone to see!

OMG.

So, I did what any self-respecting writer would do: I shared the crap out of that post. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, LinkedIn, my website…I plastered the link to any and all social media sites. (Well, the ones that I understand. I mean, I’m over 40. There’s only so much I can do these days.)

Almost immediately, the love poured in. I got dozens of positive comments on the BREVITY site. People subscribed to my newsletter. There were hearts on Twitter and likes on Facebook and virtual hugs all around.

--

--

Sandra Ebejer
Writers Guild

Entertainment & lifestyle journalist. Pub in The Cut, Shondaland, Next Avenue, and more / sandraebejer.com / Twitter: @sebejer