The Metaphor

Drugs

Little Miss Vixen
Writers Guild
2 min readMar 10, 2019

--

You’re just like drugs.

Whenever I seek for comfort, I could just use your hugs.

Although it doesn’t instantly fix the bugs, at least I won’t be rolling around the rugs.

Next, you’re so similar to cocaine.

You do some serious damages to my brain,

But somehow that’s how you help me numb my pain.

Wait, you’re just like weed.

You are so relaxed, and at the same time you can act so sweet.

And need I remind you; you are not allowed to cheat!

‘Cause you know what? You are my favorite treat.

Inevitably, you’re just like meth.

My favorite compared to all that.

You keep me focused as if I’m counting thread.

And that’s one of the many reasons I want to be with you ‘til my last breath.

Finally, I have to admit that you’re just like ecstasy.

You make me feel things like it’s some kind of fantasy.

It’s not a bad thing ‘cause now I finally see,

What kind of a person that is destined to be with me.

I know you’d hate the reference. But any drug addict won’t tell any difference. The qualities you posses and the drug’s effect that lasts. Any addict will do whatever it takes to fulfill the yearning, ‘cause somehow the drug effect fulfills a hole in their lives.

So here I am still learning, not to repeat the mistake I’ve been making, so one day someone will say “I wonder how she survives.”

And when that day finally comes, the answer is “I have found a new addiction”

The ones that don’t harm your lungs, and no, it’s not a fiction.

But surely, it contains more contradiction.

My new addiction is you.

I’m totally, entirely, completely hooked to my beau.

And I don’t ever want to quit, even though sometimes you treat me like shit.

You want to know why?

‘Cause it turns out, you’re the only that keeps me high.

Thanks for reading Writers Guild — A Penname publication

Share your stories on ManyStories.com to reach more readers. Auto-tweet your stories on repeat with Signal to increase engagement.

If you enjoyed this story, please recommend 👏 and share to help others find it!

--

--

Little Miss Vixen
Writers Guild

A lawyer who seems to overshare her personal experience through her writings