The Wedge

Siddhartha Menon
Writers Guild
Published in
2 min readAug 23, 2020

--

Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

I am now fully awake
The grogginess that the morning brings has gone away
I am fuelled by a few cups of tea and half a banana
I sit alone, in a crowded room
The table is clean, everything in its place
Proper creases, shiny cutlery
Even a glass free from water stains
I watch, everyone go about their business,
The phone beside me doesn’t chime
I see the clock slowly turning
Time passing
Yet, the phone beside me doesn’t chime
I wait, to be wished a good morning with a smile and some love
from the one I yearn for,
We’ve been having some trouble communicating you see,
The demand for space and time a constant,
But, I only wait for signals,
Not of a time gone by,
But of constants, undeterred by time, uncorrupted by space
I am, waiting for the wedge to show itself
That finds itself between us
Patience, I tell myself
Time and space will find their way to you too
To corrupt what once was, and shackle you again
In the hopelessness of false promises, friendships and the lie of love

Disclaimer: It is important to mention that this is observation and possible previous experiences, not a personal account of my day or the current state I find myself in.

Thanks for reading Writers Guild — A Penname publication

Share your stories on ManyStories.com to reach more readers. Auto-tweet your stories on repeat with Signal to increase engagement.

--

--

Siddhartha Menon
Writers Guild

Life's experiences led me to become an experiential marketer. I help people make sense of what their brands must do, otherwise, I moonlight as a writer.