You’re a Creative. Stop apologizing.

Jason Berek-Lewis
Writers Guild
Published in
2 min readMay 19, 2018

Time to put an end to our collective creative shame. Right about… now!

“Modern art piece featuring a halved orange with the rind painted blue on a blue background” by Cody Davis on Unsplash

How much embarrassment does an accountant endure as they spend their days swimming through, drowning in, Excel spreadsheets?

How does the civil engineer live with themselves after they click through AutoCAD for 8 hours each day?

And, what about the plumber who spends a full day really dealing with shit?

What do you do?

I’m just a (insert creative title here).

Writer.

Designer.

Illustrator.

Singer.

Artist.

Poet.

Blogger.

Sculptor.

Actor.

Dancer.

Author.

Coder.

Director.

Rapper.

Comedian…

“I’m just a writer.” Photo by Dan Counsell on Unsplash

Me?

“I’m just a writer”. But, in my day job I work on content that, I hope, inspires people to act to improve their mental health.

Occasionally, I type cosmic poems into the notes app on my phone. Other times, I write blog posts on Medium, and they are mostly about writing or being a writer; I hope they help others in some small way. Once I’m brave enough, I’m going to get on to writing Sci-Fi short stories.

Yeah, I’m just a writer.

But, I won’t forget that time, years ago, when a woman who read my health blog told me that my words inspired her to write about her own health journey and that doing so gave her an opportunity to heal.

I won’t forget the time my words led to a government minister visiting an early stage startup that I worked for. After that visit, the founder was invited to join an all expenses paid, government-backed, trade mission to Israel, the USA (Silicon Valley) and China.

I won’t forget the time my words caused me to choke back my tears as I read, in front of 230 guests at our wedding reception, the poem I had written for my wife just an hour or so after we got married.

I won’t forget the time my words brought most of my family to tears as I read the speech I had written to announce the name of our first child; our son, who shares his first name with my late grandfather, is now ten years old.

So, yeah, I’m “just a Writer”.

What about you?

--

--

Jason Berek-Lewis
Writers Guild

Writer/ Reader (Sci-Fi, Healthcare, Politics). Survivor of 3 heart surgeries. Lover of coffee & the stars.