Don’t Work For Yourself . It’ll Ruin You.

Wait, what?

Glyn Bawden
Writers In Progress

--

Photo by Jason Goodman on Unsplash

Surely that’s going against everything you’ve been told?

Nearly all the advice on here tells you to go it alone.

Work for yourself.

Leave the rat race

Ditch the 9–5.

I did.

I worked in education for over 20 years. I sat through countless, pointless meetings. I interviewed and was unsuccessful, I interviewed and was successful.

I managed, and I was managed.

I climbed up the ladder in the school and collected my paycheque every month.

That was it, that was my life for about 20 years and I thought that was my lot.

Don’t get me wrong, for all the faults in education and the relentless tinkering various governments do, it was still a good job.

I also worked for myself. My wife and I set up a business that we ran successfully for 10 years before we sold it.

During that time, we still had meetings, but only when we wanted to.

We made decisions that had an immediate effect on us and our families futures.

We made a lot of money and travelled to some amazing places.

--

--

Glyn Bawden
Writers In Progress

An ex-teacher, aspiring writer. Trying to be healthy but still loving wine. Love to travel.