You’ve Got To Learn To Love The Data, The Analysis, The Lists, The Boring Stuff.

It turns out that’s where the answers are

Glyn Bawden
Writers In Progress

--

Photo by Stephen Phillips - Hostreviews.co.uk on Unsplash

I sent another article out into the Medium wilderness the other day. I checked the stats regularly and was disappointed but not exactly shocked to see that it had only gained a handful of views and earned me another few cents.

That’s what most of them do after all.

I say MOST because after that latest disappointment I decided to do something I'd never done before.

I’ve written well over 200 articles now and I’ve got a pretty decent pool of data to see what’s working and what isn’t.

I checked my stats and instead of checking ‘Latest’, clicked on the ‘Highest earning’ tab and I got quite a shock.

I knew what had been my best performing article. Let’s face it, there’s only one that’s got me 3k views and has earned me anything like a reasonable amount, but I looked at my top ten earning articles.

EIGHT of the top ten were articles on the subjects of ‘health’, ‘being over 60’ and ‘weight loss’.

The number of reader interactions, views, responses, claps and money I earned for those 8 articles was probably 1000% more than what I'd earned for the next 8.

--

--

Glyn Bawden
Writers In Progress

An ex-teacher, aspiring writer. Trying to be healthy but still loving wine. Love to travel.