PSYCHOLOGY | PATIENCE | MINDFULNESS

The Art of Waiting: How to Cultivate Patience and Perseverance in Today’s Instant-Gratification World

Trusting the process and letting go of the urge for quick pleasure is difficult, but the payoff is well worth it

Ugur Akinci
Writer’s Journal
Published in
12 min readDec 25, 2022

--

Photo by Alessio Cesario: https://www.pexels.com/photo/grayscale-photography-of-sitting-man-1906859/

Do you get impatient when you’re in a long line, waiting to get gas at the service station?

Or perhaps you are at a pharmacy waiting for your turn for the last 20 minutes and fuming like a kettle?

Do you expect your Amazon package to arrive yesterday and get miserable when it arrives tomorrow?

Welcome to the Club of Impatient Task-Oriented Go-Getters!

I’ve always had a hard time waiting for things to happen since I’m a highly ambitious and goal-oriented person. When things don’t go as I’d hoped or take longer than I anticipated, I get impatient and start to demand things impatiently. My inability to wait has negatively impacted my mental health and even led to the breakdown of some of my closest friendships.

Surprise Birthday Party

In particular, I recall the time I attempted to throw a surprise birthday party for a good buddy. I was…

--

--

Ugur Akinci
Writer’s Journal

Award-winning Fortune 100 writer. Father. Husband. Brother. Friend. Still learning.