Poetry

A Poem About Something I Take for Granted

Security in an unpredictable world

Mary Gallagher
Writers on Fire
Published in
May 23, 2021

--

Photo by Ivan Dostál on Unsplash

This man…
toilet seat always down,
never up.
His patience
“Honey, I wrecked the…”
It’s okay, accidents happen.

This marriage…
broken in
handfast in comfort
and dependable.
Not to be taken for granted,
yet I do.

This man…
His indulgence.
Dreams? Go for them.
Rest? Take it.
“Honey, I want to…”
Sure, whatever makes you happy.

This marriage…
stitched at the seams
smooth like a well-slept quilt,
a cloak of security
in an unpredictable world.

--

--

Mary Gallagher
Writers on Fire

I cut the stress, slowed down, and learned the art of intentional living. When you declutter your soul, you make room for what matters. @The Decluttered Soul