poetry

The First Line From a Robert Frost Poem

Response to a writing prompt using the first line from a famous poem

Mary Gallagher
Writers on Fire
Published in
1 min readJun 9, 2021

--

I have been one acquainted with the night.
I’ve pushed and pulled against the fright.
I’ve worried much and solved nothing.

I have looked for answers that didn’t exist
but learned to trust not emotions that shift
with the shadows of night,
wearing down my defenses and leaving
me thin and fragile, a dandelion wisp.

The night has betrayed me, yet also sheltered me
and kept harsh realities at bay.
Forcing eyes open in the night
staving off the cruel hand of daylight
and what it must bring.
Failing to hold back the dawn by
extending the night with unshut eyes.

The night refuses to lie, all truth naked,
not a chance one can hide.
Find what I must, hear what I need
from darkness, shadows speak to one
who is acquainted with the night.

--

--

Mary Gallagher
Writers on Fire

I cut the stress, slowed down, and learned the art of intentional living. When you declutter your soul, you make room for what matters. @The Decluttered Soul