Playful Writing

Mary Alice Long LICSW PhD
Writers on Writing
Published in
2 min readJun 18, 2016

--

2003 Journal Entry

One of the ways I like to jump start my writing is to pick up one of my journals dated 1989-present at random, open to any page, and begin to write.

May 21, 2003. I find a poem entitled,

Salal

Salal has natural pectin, no thickeners required.

I want my writing to feel natural. When I write on my laptop my strokes stop and start with staccato motions. I prefer writing with pen to paper. I have a lot of bits and pieces of writing collecting dust on the floor of my studio. Matter of fact, I have a lot of writing stored in computer files.

Stories that I haven’t shared with anyone.

Waiting for the Ferry

Write in your journal for 20 minutes while you wait. Waiting can sap my energy because its aggravating at times or waiting can be a godsend giving me time to write and read.

Note: 1.) know ahead of time that writing in my journal is what I want to do during my ferry wait time. Be the observer. 2.) make sure I have my journal, pen, and colored pencils in the car so I’m prepared for long waits when they come.

My writing is interrupted by girls selling Krispie Kreme donuts.

Word Play

One way I play with my writing is to set a timer. How much can I write in one minute…

--

--

Mary Alice Long LICSW PhD
Writers on Writing

Soulful Expressive Arts Therapy/Depth Psychology/Value of Play & Creativity ART AS MEDICINE: Joy is the Key to Healing Grief❤️‍🩹 https://maryalicelongphd.com