The Floor is Open: Writer’s Notes as Side-by-Side Stories of Memoir (Part 4)

Mary Alice Long LICSW PhD
Writers on Writing
Published in
2 min readSep 27, 2016

I just read The Big Day: Bobby’s Birth Story to my husband. As I read along I realized that the threads of continuity and storytelling are there. I sent my memoir’s manuscript some time ago to Michael but he has yet to read it. I don’t understand his hesitancy to read what is my core story. In fact, my 3 children were each sent that same manuscript draft and not one of them gave me any feedback. Did they take the time to read the manuscript? or like Michael did they set it aside?

My children are characters in the narrative. I told each of them individually that they would receive drafts for review before publication. The first draft I sent them was short in length. It contained pieces of writing that were organized with no concern for continuity.

I would love to receive responses from readers. My hope is that they will be willing to send feedback using the questions below as catalyst for their responses.

What words stick to you when you read?

Are there any parts that are confusing?

What do you want to know more about?

This feedback will help in the revision process and I hope will create new avenues for exploration between writer-reader.

I published The Big Day: Bobby’s Birth Story to the Memoir Project earlier today. Read other excerpts from I Would Have Named Him Peter that lead up to day’s publication by going to Memoir Project

You can also read other ‘writer’s notes’ in the publication ‘Writers on Writing’. I’d love to hear from you as you read. Each recommendation (Heart) will encourage other writers and readers to follow along and help me learn and grow as a writer. Thank you!

--

--

Mary Alice Long LICSW PhD
Writers on Writing

Soulful Expressive Arts Therapy/Depth Psychology/Value of Play & Creativity ART AS MEDICINE: Joy is the Key to Healing Grief❤️‍🩹 https://maryalicelongphd.com