This is What I’ve Learned Writing Day and Night

Ilina Dimitrova
Writers on Writing
Published in
2 min readJun 21, 2020

--

I’ve been trying to become a better writer my entire life. I read a lot, I experiment a lot, and I delete a lot. The one thing I’ve learned is that the most important discovery for any writer is defining what good writing means to them.

On Good Writing

At the end of the day, we all strive for perfection. We get sucked into a game in which everyone wants to play and no one wants to lose. The best writers I know try and dream and scheme and fail and mess it all up, and then try again. They get bruised and scraped in the process but keep paddling forward knowing that once you reach that perfect intersection of flow, meaning, and impact, you ignite a deep connection with the reader. And every drop of sweat and every minute of exertion were worth it. The burnout was worth it.

Good writing makes people see reason in the absurd. It makes them feel like they are capable of so much. It takes away the worry and the strain, and allows the reader to experience the story on their own terms. It empowers them to see beyond what’s in front of them and into what can be.

Good writing makes the intangible feel right.

Good writing is like an emotional grenade.

Good writing creates authenticity. Authenticity that unites the message, the medium, and the purpose.

If you like this post please recommend it and share your thoughts with me on Twitter @IlinaDimitrova

--

--

Ilina Dimitrova
Writers on Writing

Founder @IgnyteSocial, PR and social media pro, advocate for all things tech and cool, HuffPo blogger at http://t.co/W7yx3Rijwm