A Happy Day — by Akshita Tanwar

Writer's Pocket
Writer’s Pocket
Published in
2 min readAug 13, 2020
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

The time I spent with Maria, the love of my life ended way too soon. I lived the best 32 years with her but they feel so short as if all those 32 years combined to one day, the one happy day of my life.

We married as high school lovers and never knew we would make it to our marriage.
After 5 years of our worldly accepted relation and 8 years of our love, we had our first baby, Ryan. I still remember the first time he got hold of my hand with those tiny fingers.

We had a family, a happy one until one day Ryan met his love and parted ways.

Since then, Maria and I were dependent on each other for everything.

Our growing ages further ravaged our conditions. Maria caught emphysema.
I remember every night we would lay down on the ground and look at the moon, holding hands, giggling.

But I always had this fear that a day will come when either she or I won’t feel the heart smiling looking at the moon.

Destiny concluded it was me. It is me.

Now, every time I look at the moon, I realise how we all have our hands laid out. All we need is someone to hold them and walk till the Sun dies, till the stars spy and till we close our eyes.

And all of a sudden, I feel my hands held again with the same love and compassion.

Looking at the moon reminiscences me of her absence but the feeling it gives makes me want to lie under its shade always.

And last but no the least, it makes me feel the happy day of my life continues and this way, it would never end!

I know she heard the words I whispered when she lied subtly on her deathbed.

“Stay a little more. I need you” because she is here, holding my hands, giggling!

--

--