Is your writing going, going or gone!

Jan Cornall
Writer’s Way
Published in
2 min readMay 22, 2018
Come baaaaack! Photo by Kupono Kuwamura, Unsplash.

I always love the moment when the auctioneer is close to closing the deal but he just wants to give the buyers one last chance to up their bid.

going…

going…

going once….

going twice…………..

going three times and sold to the lady in the pink sombrero!

For some reason this expression has been popping into my mind lately. Mm, I wonder why? Does it have something to do with my habit of putting my writing on the back burner, especially when I am so close to finishing?

As if my subconscious is becoming impatient and wants to close the deal.

Come on, are you going to finish this book or not?! I can’t wait around all day for you to close the deal. This is your last chance!

going…

going…

I have 3000 words!

can I hear 4?

great!

that’s 4,000 words by the end of this week, done!

Sold to the lady in the yellow sombrero, already at her desk, dusting off her draft…

It’s important to make these kind of deals with yourself. The mind has all sorts of devious ways of distracting you while offering perfectly good reasons why you shouldn’t be at your desk doing the things you most want to be doing if only you allowed yourself.

Don’t let someone else close that deal, after all if one thing is true, you are word rich, the sky is the limit!

Get going today!

© Jan Cornall 2018

Photo by Alex Harvey, Unsplash

Jan Cornall is a writer/performer/teacher who mentors writers and leads international writing workshops and retreats. She has written plays, screenplays and her books, Take Me To Paradise and Archipelagogo are available here. She has almost completed her literary travel memoir about following the footsteps of the French writer Marguerite Duras in Vietnam and Cambodia.

www.writersjourney.com.au

--

--

Jan Cornall
Writer’s Way

Writer,traveler-leads international creativity retreats. Come write with me at www.writersjourney.com.au