Lonely Writer

Jan Cornall
Writer’s Way
Published in
2 min readMar 12, 2023

Sometimes you just have to sing the blues

Photo by Noah Silliman, Unsplash.

Are you feeling a bit lonely at your writer’s desk?

It’s one of the hazards of of our solitary job, a feeling that comes and goes…

Usually means it’s time to take a break, get out and about, go have coffee with a friend, visit a gallery, host a dinner party…

Or write a song about it.

Here’s mine, I wrote it a while back but it’s always satisfying to revisit when the blues come around again…

Lonely Writer Blues

I don’t go out no more

No one comes to knock my door

Can’t remember who last I saw

Cos I’m a lonely writer

I don’t frequent late night bars

Don’t get into stranger’s cars

I may as well live on Mars

Cos I’m a lonely writer

I don’t have a social plan

Try to catch me if you can

Write to me if you’re a fan

Cos I’m a lonely writer

Lonely writers work on their books

Skulk about in quiet nooks

Take lonely strolls and lonely walks

No time for small talk

Lonely Writer

I don’t have no time to dance

Or get in other peoples pants

Time is precious, can’t take the chance

Cos I’m a lonely writer

I must think and ruminate

For inspiration, cannot wait

Must hit the desk at half past eight

Cos I’m a lonely writer

I don’t go for dinners out

Or to the pub for a shout

I’m a loner there’s no doubt

Cos I’m a lonely writer

At the writer’s festival

You would never know

See the lonely writers all in a row

Witty, charming, erudite

We will party on all night

Drinking, drugging, swapping beds

Climbing in each other’s heads

Take the opportunity

Cos next week we’ll all be

Lonely writers

Lonely writers

Lonely writers

© Jan Cornall 2016

Writer Jan Cornall leads international writer’s workshops, retreats and journeys with her company Writer’s Journey.

Coming up in 2023!

Draftbusters Online: monthly modules.

Mentoring packages to suit your needs.

Sensing Italy June 3 -10, 2023.

Story Hunters, India, Nov 4–19, 2023.

Moroccan Caravan, Feb 23 — Mar 8 , 2024.

Haiku Writing In Japan, Early April 2024.

--

--

Jan Cornall
Writer’s Way

Writer,traveler-leads international creativity retreats. Come write with me at www.writersjourney.com.au