Her Last Breath, My Endless Love

A Mother’s Final Slumber

Loosing my mom to cancer

The Obsessed Writer
The Writer’s Whisper

--

I watched her go to sleep as the room became silent and the shadows crept in.

The sound of the ticking clock marked the agonizing passage of time as day gave way to never-ending darkness.

Her breaths become ethereal, like a whispering breeze, as fleeting as the waves.

With her slender and cold hand in mine,

An unseen story of life.

Her once-bright eyes, which were now shadowed by pain, revealed a life filled with both success and failure.

In the evening’s brilliance, memories moved.

Of happiness and love long ago.

The surrounding world ceased to breathe in observance of her last breath.

She released her grip, and a gentle, soft moan escaped as time slowed.

I watched as the light left her face and an angel departed our world.

Tears fell softly, a silent prayer for that one special and pure soul that had passed away.

That moment, a piece of me vanished, yet in her calm, I found a roadmap.

Her spirit sprang from struggle into the embrace of boundless life.

Even although there will always be a void she leaves behind, her love will always shine brightly.

“Though I am gone, I am always near,” she says softly and clearly in her dreams.

--

--