FICTION | DRABBLE | SHORT STORY | SCI-FI | MILITARY SCI-FI

An Unbreakable Bond

I looked for her first

Hannah Greer
The Fiction Writer’s Den
2 min readApr 27, 2024

--

Two women soldiers
Photo by Miaversa: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-in-military-uniform-12034217/

As the only two women among the recruits, it was practically inevitable we stuck together. But what we started as a survival strategy became much more. We forged an unbreakable bond. So when our ship went down in the middle of a human-eating forest on a foreign planet, I looked for her first.

I wouldn’t have lasted through training without her, and I couldn’t get through being stranded on a strange planet without her either. But no matter how far I searched, how much debris I overturned, or how loudly I yelled, I couldn’t find her.

She was gone. Vanished.

Hannah Greer © 2024 All Rights Reserved.

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed the story and would like to show your support, staying on the page for 30 seconds is a great help. Claps, comments, and highlights are also appreciated.

Special thanks to Grim Flandango for the A Drabble a Day prompts. The prompt that inspired today’s story was “Forge”. Also thanks to JF Danskin for the Creative Writing Workshop over at The Fiction Writer’s Den. This story is my attempt at the second week’s exercise, The Rising Tension in your Fiction. If you want to level up your writing, I recommend following along!

--

--