Garbo’s Faces — Part Twenty-Three

Departure and Visit

Ulf Wolf
The Fiction Writer’s Den
7 min readApr 24, 2024

--

(Image by Author)

Click here to read this novel from the beginning.

I got the call the following Friday, a little over a week later. It was the 24th of November, a day clearly marked with purple crayon on my wall calendar. And right next to this date: “Arnby Presentation,” in the same purple crayon.

Mr. Arnby was one of my main clients, a textile magnate from Manchester wanting a Frank Lloyd Wrightish cottage springing up from the ground in Essex by his very own stretch of river. I had finished it, all details worked out and organically supporting each other. I was pleased with it, especially with its not so very Frank Lloyd Wrightishness. I was about to leave for the office, and the presentation, when the phone rang.

It was Harriet, too distraught to speak coherently.

“Harriet?” I said.

The handset changed hands at the other end and Mrs. Renshaw came on the line.

“There’s nothing we can do,” she said, and I then knew that Attra was dying.

“What happened?” I asked.

“I am not sure,” she said. “I think it is his liver, or kidneys.”

“But they were okay,” I protested.

--

--

Ulf Wolf
The Fiction Writer’s Den

Raised by trolls in northern Sweden, now settled on the California coast a stone’s throw south of the Oregon border. Here I meditate and write. Wolfstuff.com.