Flash Fiction | DARK

Jane, The Author

Discusses her next book

Nanji Erode
The Fiction Writer’s Den

--

A close up of a woman with dark hair
Photo by Andriyko Podilnyk on Unsplash

Nervously, I settled into the plush cushions of Jane’s living room, my eyes darting around at the shelves adorned with her literary achievements. To be here, in the presence of my idol, was surreal. Jane, with her penetrating gaze and sharp intellect, was just as captivating in person as she was through her writing.

Our conversation flowed effortlessly, revolving around her gripping murder mysteries. I couldn’t help but express my admiration for her skill in crafting such vivid and authentic tales of intrigue.

“How do you do it?” I blurted out, unable to contain my curiosity any longer. “Your descriptions of the murders are so… real. Some of my doctor buddies say they are one hundred percent authentic!”

Jane’s lips curved into a mysterious smile as she leaned back in her chair. “Imagination, research, and perhaps a hint of madness,” she replied cryptically. “And of course, as you knew, I worked in the medical field for ten years before taking up writing. That helps a lot.”

As the evening wore on, I steered the conversation to her upcoming book. I wasn’t sure if she would discuss it, but I took a shot. “Tell me about what you are working on now, Jane.”

To my utter surprise, Jane was more than willing. She shared the plot and characters of her work in progress, drawing me deeper into her world of suspense and mystery. Then, out of nowhere, she turned to me with a glint in her eye.

“You know, Alex,” she began, her voice tinged with excitement, “I need a character for my next book — a murder victim, specifically. And I think you’d be perfect for the role. I’d like to model the victim after you!”

I blinked, stunned by her proposition. “Me? In your book?”

Jane nodded, her smile widening. “Yes, you. Who better to bring authenticity to the victim’s role than someone who appreciates storytelling as much as you do?”

The idea sent a thrill down my spine. To be immortalized in Jane’s novel was an opportunity I couldn’t pass up.

“Alright,” I replied, feeling a surge of excitement. “I’m in.”

Jane’s eyes sparkled with satisfaction as she leaned closer, her voice dropping to a conspiratorial whisper. “Excellent. Now, let me tell you how you meet your demise…”

--

--

Nanji Erode
The Fiction Writer’s Den

Ideator, Copywriter, Movie Lover, Science Enthusiast, Minimalist.