RANT | WRITING | TAPAS

Nothing Makes My Guts Burn Like Spoiled Tapas

Tapas.io did a nasty thing that affected all of my friends

Jay C Wells
The Fiction Writer’s Den
3 min readJan 24, 2023

--

A mannequin showing its middle finger
Photo by Claudio Schwarz on Unsplash

There are many firsts in life—the first time in love, first bang, or first time eating Spanish food.

Now, it is time for my first rant on Medium, because Tapas did a nasty thing that affected all my friends.

My fiction friends (not to be mixed up with my fictional friends) and I expanded to the writing platform Tapas after Medium started screwing around with the algorithm, and fiction writers were severely hit.

Many thought Tapas was a new hope, the promised land for fiction writers. I was a silent sceptic. There are always strings attached, aren’t there?

Tapas has a sleek design and offers two options to earn money from your content. One of them is an internal tipping tool with a gamification sugar-coating. The platform is tailored to web novels and comics.

There are many options for using images as covers, thumbnails, or title pictures of episodes. Most of us had to resort to AI-generated images for financial reasons, lack of talent or because of disabilities.

Yesterday, Tapas announced they would forbid AI-generated images on their platform due to the…

--

--

Jay C Wells
The Fiction Writer’s Den

Grandmaster of the Medium Illuminati. Creator of hidden worlds and wondrous stories. https://linktr.ee/jaycwells