FICTION | DARK FANTASY | FAIRY TALE RETELLING | SERIAL FICTION

Red Rising: Her Venomous Presence

Episode 8: Ravyn’s new directive for Lucien may get him closer to Theodora than ever.

H.R. Parker
The Fiction Writer’s Den
4 min readApr 9, 2024

--

Ravyn’s fell magic | Created in MidJourney and Canva by author

Just entering the Murkwood? Click below to catch up on all episodes!

Red Rising: The Direwolf of Murkfell

9 stories
An old woman and a white dire wolf stand in front of a cozy cottage in the woods.
A young woman in a long red robe holding a glowing orb stands in the forest with a large white direwolf standing behind her with glowing red eyes.

Lucien

With the enchanted boar’s heart in tow, I make my way back to Ravyn’s cottage in the Murkfell. Leaving the protection of the Windborne Wood and reentering the Murkfell Wood hits me like a brick wall. My body might be trapped within this beast, but in Granny’s wood, at least my mind feels free. I could do what I wanted there without fear of Ravyn’s eye always watching, her wrath lying in wait like a poisonous snake.

The darkness instantly closes in around me, and I feel suffocated like never before.

I slow my pace, hesitating. If I return the heart now, I won’t be able to come and go into the Windborne Wood. It would be harder to see Granny and Theodora. And wouldn’t Ravyn be…

--

--

H.R. Parker
The Fiction Writer’s Den

Editor for The Kraken Lore and The Fiction Writer’s Den. Co-host of Brewing Fiction Podcast. Fiction author and poet. Give me taters or give me death.