DRABBLE

The Debt Collector

A Drabble a Day

Grim Flandango
The Fiction Writer’s Den
2 min readApr 17, 2024

--

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

This prompt A Drabble a Day is by Me in The Fiction Writer’s Den. The word today is LIGAMENT.

Dale had torn a ligament, which pretty much spelled the end of his baseball season. Which was why he was home when the tall man came knocking.

“Is your mother home?” the man asked.

Dale didn’t like the look of the guy and didn’t want to admit she wasn’t. So, instead, he said, “She’s busy. Can I help you?”

The man considered this. His eyes said he didn’t believe the teen.

“Your mother owes me a rather large settlement,” he said as he opened his briefcase. Something moved inside. Dale stretched forward to see.

“I suppose you’ll have to do.”

Thanks for reading. If you enjoyed this, please scroll to the bottom of the page. Claps and comments are always welcomed. You can check out the rest of my stuff here, where you can also give me a follow if the mood strikes you.

You can also subscribe here to get my newest stories! You know you want to!

If you really enjoyed my work, you can buy me a coffee!

--

--

Grim Flandango
The Fiction Writer’s Den

I write weird stories that may or may not have monsters in them, depending on my mood. I can write 2k words on just about anything- except for a coherent bio.