The Magical Adventure[of Acting]

Jerry Brewer
Writing 150 Fall 2020
3 min readOct 25, 2020

Acting is to place oneself in circumstance and escape to a new place, to live the life of another. Konstantin Stanislavski explains “All action in theatre must have inner justification, be logical, coherent, and real.” In the journey of living the life of another, I must let myself be taken by reaction, and allow emotions to place in myself in the scene in which has been written and escape the world around. The audience attends a theatrical performance or a film to be lifted by the emotions and adventure of the story, and be taken away to the world in which the actors have brought from ideas and words on a script to life with emotion and real circumstances. Such is a magic to be a part of; to allow myself and fellow cast members to be swept away and to stand my personal ground and being within the new world in which I have been placed.

The magic of theatre to me is that I can is able to take the audience on an adventure on a much more personal level and fill the room of the theatre with the sounds of the show as a part of the mood that is set on a much more impacting level for the goal of creating a world to escape to. Film creates a different magic, making it possible to explore more elaborate scenarios that cannot be set as powerfully on a stage. It is also imperative in both areas of acting to be driven internally, and to imagine and feel the vision in which I desire to live out in front of the camera or the audience. Such becomes the inspiration for the use of my body as an instrument that reflects the true magic within my mind and heart.

How am I directly affected? What is it that inspires me and influences my great goals to be an actor of theatre and film? With each role, viewing a circumstance through other eyes, experiencing new events internally and externally allowed me to discover parts of myself that I knew not of prior to the role. In the case of theatre, each performance allows a different approach influenced by many emotional factors. In both areas(theatre and film) learning more about myself within the reactions with others and the relationships developed within the journey of emotion. Expression within new experiences, and the clashes and bonds with other emotions shapes my ability to find and create a new voice, a new determination or vulnerability, and a new fortitude inclusive to the aggregate of all prior experiences. I am given the opportunity to try to understand other cultures, other careers, other emotions, and ideas to discover new viewpoints to worlds that can be brought to my plate of knowledge and love. In sharing such special events with people I hope to help create a world that all of the actors, crew, and audience can escape to and use it to dream and imagine its personal applications and those to the world and beyond for further magical adventures.

Works Cited:

Stanislavski, Konstantin. “All Action in Theatre Must Have Inner Justification, Be Logical, Coherent, and Real.” AZ Quotes.com, 2020, www.azquotes.com/quote/781159.

--

--