Post 7: Friday Free Writings

Anthony Oro
Writing 150 Spring 2021
2 min readApr 12, 2021

--

My favorite part of this class is the free writing that we have on Fridays. This is something that I look forward to every week, as I can really let myself go in the form of writing, which isn’t something that I normally do. I had never really experienced this before being in this class.

I have never really enjoyed writing that is super structured or anything like that. I feel like there are too many restrictions that way which impairs my ability to write freely. But what we do in this class is actually an escape from that in a sense. Being honest, I have to say, I’ve never enjoyed writing as much as I do now. It is like an outlet where I can let my mind flow freely onto the paper now. It’s a pretty similar feeling to how I produce or compose music in a way. This is because it’s the same feeling of letting your creativity flow out. The difference is the medium in which you choose to do it in. And I have to say, from the time that I started the class until now, my writing has seriously freed up so much. I can actually type what I’m actually feeling without worrying so much about using high level vocabulary words for extra points or making sure to use similes and metaphors, even if the essay doesn’t call for it. The focus is more on how concisely and effectively I can deliver the message in a way that my audience can gain something from it. Plus, I can use more words that I would actually say in real life. We talk all the time, so why wouldn’t we use the words that we we say? It won’t ruin it as long as you are clear with it. If anything, you will have a more personal connection with the audience and vice versa. It’s not wrong. It’s just your personality coming out in your writing. Writing a super structured essay is like a robot playing music. It just doesn’t hit the same. There’s no personality or imperfections which is what makes us human in the first place. We are writing for humans, aren’t we?

--

--