Annie Zhang
Writing 150 Spring 2021
2 min readApr 18, 2021

--

POST 6

The face is the most defining feature of a person for me. When I think about someone, I will imagine their face or what my mind thinks of their face to be.While I cannot say this for everyone, I can reflect for myself.

The face is not only unconsciously a key defining feature for me of a person, it is also extremely relatable. When someone refers to their face or the topic of a face, I will immediately think about my own face. When my friends and I listen to a crime podcast immediately proceding the podcast I notice everyone’s question is what does this guy look like — I need to know what he looks like. Assess knowing what this man look like would help make a judgment on what a criminal looks like.

This ties into the idea of being judgemental and habitually making conclusions about someone from one moment. I also believe that it lives deep down inside everyone. Our society is so concentrated on the face being an identifying factor of someone. I noticed I’m ashamed to say that, but when a face becomes thinner or chubbier, it manipulates or changes unconscious perceptions about that person. Because being slimmer is noted to be more beautiful in society. When someone decides to gain weight, there seems to be a presence of thinking better or worse of someone based on societal standards. It’s horrifying in that sometimes changes to the face are uncontrollable, so your perceptions about someone could be manipulated by factors that are not rooted in that person’s intention. Health, injuries, risks of surgery etc. I hate how I am picking out and analyzing this idea of the face, simultaneously finding how judgemental I am habitually. While I try to disregard or re-think these judgemental thoughts about the face as they come, in the fact that they exist and are present is also an issue. Finding a way to prevent that for myself, will let me see people more truthfully. I think that also connects to seeing myself more truthfully. Because I’ve always looked so heavily upon how I look to others and what others are going to judge of me.

Which environment I’m living in I find plays a huge role as well. The beauty standards of America versus Asia are very very different. It makes me question compliments that I receive about my appearance from either country I’m in because I will think oh well That’s not how it is in the other country. My perceptions of my face and my appearance are so warped that it stresses me out and I tend to overthink about my face.

Being in an industry so concerned about appearance, makes the idea of my face even more confusing. It’s hard to disregard as a factor of my reflection of self/identifying factor of myself.

--

--