WP2: An Evil Feminist

Payton
Writing 150
Published in
2 min readOct 25, 2021
Laura, 1944. Directed by Otto Preminger.

The title of an evil scientist, especially at this time of year, has a particular ring to it that I strive to embody. We all know they’re absolutely mad, brilliant old men messing about in their evil potions and conjuring up wicked ideas to change the world. I’m not particularly gifted at science, so the best I can be is evil and want to change the world. But I think that all evil people should have origin stories, so what would mine be?

For this project, I’ve gathered together my favorite films to look at how they affected me when I was younger and made me interested in studying feminist theory. Feminists are usually characterized as ugly, un-humorous, easily offended, etc. and because I can’t stop myself from being one, I’m embracing my role as an unfunny hag and chronicling my descent into my currently wretched state of mind of feminist villainy.

--

--