Post #1 Is there such thing as being too busy?

Ashley Kilmnick
2 min readDec 4, 2022

--

With the new school year in full swing I finally feel the sense of routine I’ve missed. I stare at my brightly color-coded google calendar each night and plan my day ahead. However, this year seems different. I think oftentimes being busy is looked at as a form of success. The more busy one is, the more successful they’ll become, but last week as I was eating my first meal of the day at 3pm I couldn’t help but wonder whether that was really true.

The past two weeks have been a whirlwind of running from my job at the lab to club meetings to back to back classes. So It was no surprise that two weeks into the school year I was already sick after packing my google calendar to the brim. I realized I needed to take a step back and reevaluate how I wanted this year and avoid falling victim to the dreading feeling of burnout.

I’ve always loved to be busy. I love seeing how many things I can juggle at once and feeling a sense of accomplishment. Multitasking is how I thrive. Whether it’s meal prepping while in a zoom meeting or listening to a podcast while getting ready. However, I think that when we base our success and self-worth on how many things were involved in it only leads to feelings of FOMO and exhaustion.

I myself can attest to that familiar feeling. I love to go out with my friends and look forward to spending time with them after a long week. However, it’s important to prioritize things like mental health and school work before making room for other commitments. Saying no as a complete sentence is very hard for me to do. I always try to squeeze in everything I possibly can into my schedule even if it means sacrificing much needed breaks and self care.

If these past few weeks have taught me anything it’s that taking care of yourself first is crucial. Whether it means going to bed a little earlier or just taking some time to be present with yourself throughout the day. The only way to survive busy college life is by finding calmness within the busyness.

--

--