Post 3: What They Don’t Want You to Know About First Gen & Low Income Students

Alora Geiser-Cseh
3 min readMay 8, 2023

--

As a low-income student, my college experience was anything but easy. I came from a family that struggled to make ends meet, and although I was determined to attend college, the financial burden was overwhelming. Despite my best efforts to secure financial aid, scholarships, and grants, I still found myself struggling to pay for textbooks, food, and other necessities. The stress of trying to keep up with my classes while also worrying about finances took a toll on me. I missed out on a lot of opportunities that other students took for granted, like going out to eat or attending events on campus. But perhaps the biggest challenge I faced as a low-income student was the constant feeling of imposter syndrome. I often felt like I didn’t belong at my university because I couldn’t afford the same luxuries as my peers. I was always aware of my financial struggles, and it was hard not to compare myself to others who seemed to have it all together.

Being a low-income student presented a unique set of challenges that I have had to overcome, and it’s something that has shaped me and my college experience in many ways. By interviewing other first-generation and low-income students I was searching for a deeper understanding of the challenges and obstacles they faced in their academic journey. I was able to hear about their experiences being at a prestigious white institution and how they have navigated it thus far. What I found through these interviews was a complex web of challenges that these students faced, ranging from financial stress to social and cultural barriers when it comes to finding a sense of community and support in college. Many of them shared experiences of feeling like they didn’t belong or weren’t capable of succeeding in higher education because of their backgrounds. They shared feelings of isolation and shame as a result of stigma and negative stereotypes related to their socioeconomic status from their peers and others in their communities. They felt like they were seen as “less than” their more affluent peers and that there was not really a place for them on campus, like they did not belong.

From the interviews, it seems like one of the larger challenges that first-generation and low-income students face is the lack of a support network. This impacts their ability to make connections and form friendships with their peers, as they struggle to navigate the complex social and academic environment of college and find the resources they need to succeed. Despite the growing awareness of the challenges faced by low-income and first-generation students, many colleges and universities still fall short when it comes to providing the necessary support and resources for these students to succeed. These programs can be critical for helping these students connect with peers and mentors who have similar backgrounds and experiences. While many colleges offer financial aid programs, they are not always sufficient to meet the needs of low-income students who still struggle to pay for tuition, textbooks, and other expenses associated with college.

One of the big takeaways from these interviews was the need for greater institutional support for first-gen and low-income students. While many universities have programs and resources aimed at supporting these students, there is still much work to be done in terms of addressing systemic inequalities and creating a more equitable higher education system. These interviews were a powerful reminder of the resilience and strength of first-gen and low-income students. As we work towards creating a more equitable higher education system, it’s essential that we listen to and learn from the experiences of these students to build a more inclusive and supportive campus culture that celebrates the diversity of its student body and supports all of its students.

--

--