WP2 — An Indian Family’s Descent: from Life in India in the 50’s to present day America

Asha Oommen
Writing 150
Published in
4 min readMar 18, 2022

My life experiences are viewed through the perspective of a 19 year old Indian girl living in America. This perspective has greatly impacted my livelihood, as the expectations placed on me by myself and my community drive the decisions I make towards my future. Familial approval is highly valued in my culture, and their acceptance is a connection I will continue to fight for throughout the rest of my life. My cultural values have the power to dictate my future, and the kind of life I am expected to live. However, the power of these values have varied throughout the descent of generations in America. The introduction of new cultural values throughout time has changed the ways in which Indians are expected to live their lives, as well as the endeavors we are allowed to pursue.

Most people are aware that Indians tend to have careers in STEM, technology or the corporate world. We have lacked careers in the arts in humanities due to the lack of acceptance of minorities, as well as the discouragement of our own community to pursue these interests. I recognize that my life as a second generation Indian American is significantly different than that of my parents or grandparents. For this project, I wanted to assess the ways in which my family’s values have changed from generation to generation, and establish the areas in which they have become more lenient.

I wanted to start this project with the oldest generation I had accesses to: my grandparents generation. In this video I interview my Appachen (grandpa), Abraham Jacob. We discuss his upbringing and his family’s dynamic in the 40’s, 50’s and 60’s. In 1974, he moved to America with my grandma and they had their first child, my mom. Throughout his life he followed different career paths, exposing him to different sources of income and success. When he came to America, he worked as a nurse in a rural, white town in upstate New York. As an immigrant, he dreamed of become successful in America, and for his kids to be respected by the people of this country. Now after living in America for almost 50 years, his former opinions about success in different industries have changed. He has witnessed the creation of diverse spaces in the arts and humanities, making it more accessible for people like his granddaughter to take part in.

To listen to his interview, click the links below:

The second generation included in this project is that of my parents. I interviewed my mom to assess her experiences growing up in a dominantly white town in the 70’s, as well as her relations with her immigrant parents during that time. As the eldest child, she was expected to set a successful precedent for her sisters, and accomplish great things. Her parents encouraged her to become a doctor because they knew it was a stable career that would earn her a wealthy income. Although she had passions outside of medicine, she suppressed those interests to pursue her family’s interests. She has interest in the arts, and encourages her daughter (me) to pursue the career of her dreams, despite the unpredictability of the industry.

To listen to her interview, click the links below:

Finally, I wanted to finish this project with insight from the experiences of my own generation. I was born in the U.S. and I consider myself to be second generation. My mom was born in America and my dad was born in India, but he moved to the U.S. when he was two years old. Both of my parents were raised in America, so they understood what my own upbringing was like. We could relate to one another, which was a luxury they were unable to experience with their own parents. In this video, I briefly describe my own experiences in the arts and the ways in which my family responded to my interests. I covered most of this in WP1 which I will also link below.

To learn more about me, click the link below:

I also wanted to give a brief history about dominant Indian actors in American cinema, and how we became established in the industry. This video describes the careers of dominant figures, as well as the ways in which Indians have been portrayed in cinema throughout history.

To learn more about the history of Indian actors in American cinema, click the link below:

Through this project I was able to assess the ways in which my cultural values have shifted throughout generational descent. It has definitely become more lenient, allowing Indians like me to pursue careers in the arts. I hope that this transition progresses, and that the cultural stigma will one day cease to exist.

Works Cited:

“From the Archives: Sabu Dies of Heart Attack.” Los Angeles Times, Los Angeles Times, 3 Dec. 1963, https://www.latimes.com/local/obituaries/la-me-sabu-19631203-story.html.

“Indians in Hollywood, Part 1.” Golden Globes, https://www.goldenglobes.com/articles/indians-hollywood-part-1.

“Sabu (1924–1963).” BFI Screenonline: Sabu (1924–1963) Biography, http://www.screenonline.org.uk/people/id/459165/index.html.

--

--